Steve Jobs 1955 – 2011 . . .and the crazy ones think different

How odd it felt to type his birth year. That is the year of my birth. To see this today caused two feelings. First of all, someone my age just died. MY AGE…DIED in the same sentence is odd. I admit it, okay?! Even with all the years I’ve spent in the industry <death care industry>, it does shake me when it’s that close to me.

The second reason this bothered me is the fact that he was my age and just look the mark his life made on the world!!! The entire world. Wow! That’s humbling for me. Have I done anything that is worthwhile? Have I done anything to leave a positive impact on the world and people I’ve met along my life’s way? Did I provide comfort, wisdom or love when it was needed? Did I give more than I took?

Steve Jobs was one of the crazy ones“. I take comfort in that. From now on, every time I do something that’s considered to be a little crazy in the eyes of the world, I’ll know I’m on the right track. I take comfort that it’s those labeled “crazies” who often become the genius’ of the world. I shall strive to be a “positively Crazy” and leave a warm smile on the faces of those I encounter along life’s way.

Another great  video left to us was from the 2005 Stanford Commencement Address given by Steve Jobs a few years ago. He talks about education, life, and even death. It was made after his first surgery that left him upbeat and ready to live “at least a few more decades”. Sadly that didn’t happen.

Thank you Steve Jobs for your words of wisdom, your insight into human nature, and your reinvention of the wheel. We have traveled far with it, and have much more to explore and learn.

Peace be with us all.

Leave a Reply

